Sometimes I get the feeling…

… that people want to see me fail simply because of my career choice. Most of my cousins to date are either Pharmacists or Engineers. I’m not going to front, but they live steady, nice, financially secure lives. So, seeing this, my parents naturally want me to pursue a career in Engineering or Pharmacy.

However, as I take a different, unknown career path (in their perspective) in Finance, they seem angry when speaking about my future. I get the feeling they want to see me struggle, just so they can say “I told you so!”

I know they want the best for me, and I could understand that. But I feel like they want me to live an easy, stable life with a ceiling in terms of advancement (in career and salary). Personally, I’d rather live a life that didn’t have a limit to what I could achieve. I know it’s risky, but I think having my potential bottled up is a lot worse.

I know I sound crazy, but I don’t want a steady, stress-free career. I want a career where I continue to set goals and aim high. I never want to look back and think what could’ve been, because I’m ready to achieve things no one expects me to.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I get the feeling…”

  1. “I get the feeling they want to see me struggle, just so they can say “I told you so!” “–lol .. i bet when your parents and family see you actually “fail” .. i bet not even they would want to say it”I want a career where I continue to set goals and aim high.”– yeahhh!! gett’em dave .. aim high for DEVRY 😀

    Like

  2. yea right alex! my mom would LOVE to say “i told you so.”it’s admirable that you rather have a career that challenges you than one that will give you an easy life. i say “go for it david!”

    Like

Leave a comment